Norway introduces quarantine for unvaccinated travelers from France, Monaco, Portugal and Spain

Travelers from France, Monaco, Portugal and Spain, as well as travelers from the Norra Savolax SVD region in Finland and the Gotland and Västernorrland regions in Sweden, will be subject to quarantine upon arrival in Norway, from Monday, November 29.

The decision was announced by the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services in a press release issued on Friday, explaining that these four countries have been removed from the amber box and are now marked in red.

The same note that the quarantine will only be applied to people who do not have a verifiable coronavirus certificate.

The entry quarantine only applies to travelers from red, dark red and gray countries (countries and areas outside the EEA / Schengen and the UK) who do not have a corona certificate valid and verifiable. Children and young people under 18 are exempt from entry quarantine regardless of their origin», Explains the press release.

It further notes that the quarantine period may be shortened if the traveler takes a PCR test no earlier than the third day of isolation, and the same result is negative.

Last week, Norway imposed a quarantine on arrivals from the Canary Islands in Spain, Corsica in France, Madeira in Portugal, the Länsi-Pohja region in Finland and the Blekinge, Halland and Värmland regions in Sweden.

As a result, only Italy, Malta, San Marino and Vatican City are now listed in orange, while the green list remains empty for a week in a row.

In red are also Cyprus and Romania, while the following countries are listed in the dark red category: Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg (instead of red ), Netherlands, Poland (instead of red), Slovakia, Slovenia, United Kingdom, Switzerland (instead of red), Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Austria.

New measures have also been introduced for travelers from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Mozambique, Lesotho, Eswatini and Malawi, upon detection of a new strain of virus in South Africa, now known as Omicron.

>> EU asks member states to suspend all travel from southern African countries due to new COVID variant

Travelers eligible to enter Norway from these countries are required to pass a test prior to arrival and upon arrival. They are also forced to quarantine themselves for a period of ten days, the first three of which must be spent in a quarantine hotel.

In the event of a negative PCR taken after three days, the rest of the quarantine can be carried out at home or in another suitable place of residence where it is possible to avoid close contact with others, with a private room, its own bathroom and own kitchen or catering service“, Notes the Norwegian Institute of Public Health in a travel advisory.

He also explains that travelers from these countries will be able to shorten the quarantine thanks to a negative PCR taken no earlier than the seventh day of quarantine.

>> Norway to allow entry of more third country travelers from November 26