Vice President Among the flags off the Spain-linked Uganda football team

The Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Anita Among has urged the Ugandan squad destined for Spain’s football showcase to remain diligent, disciplined and focused.

Among these remarks, she officially sent the team to Spain where they will spend 10 days in the showcase.

“I urge you to stay disciplined. Work hard and stay focused. This is a great opportunity for you and for the whole country. I wish you the best as you show off your talents. Market you together with the county” Hon. Among revealed in Parliament.

Hon. Fredrick Angura speaks in Parliament. (David Isabirye)

The team takes off on the night of Friday the 4thand February 2022 aboard SN Brussels.

Two members of parliament Hon. Fredrick Angura and the Hon. Geofrey Ssolo Kayemba has already left as a precursor.

In Spain, they are expected to play many friendlies.

This trip is organized by the management group Festo Web Sports. The Ugandan government leads the group of sponsors which also includes the Uganda Tourism Board (UTB), Uganda Federation of Football Associations (FUFA), Ministry of Health (sponsored COVID-19 testing) and others .

Some of the Fundi team officials and players pose with the vice president outside parliament. (David Isabirye)

The traveling delegation:


Guardians: Derrick Emukule (Wakiso Giants), Ali Mwirusi (KCCA)

Defenders: Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), Simon Baligeya (URA), Andrew Isiagi (Police), Derrick Ndahiiro (URA), Rashid Mukungu (Free Agent), Eric Ssenjobe (Police), Enock Walusimbi (Express)

Midfielders: Nicholas Kabonge (SC Villa), Julius Poloto (KCCA), Ivan Irinimbabazi (Soltilo Brights Stars), Alpha Thierry Ssali (Proline), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline),

Forwards: Raymond Derrick Onyai (Kataka), Ivan Ocholit (Proline), Sadat Happy Anaku (KCCA), Alfred Onek


The head coach:Omar Selli

Coach’s Assistant: Richard Malinga

FUFA representative: Bashir Mutyaba (FUFA Youth Development Manager)

Accompaniement MPS: Hon. Frederick Angura, Hon. Jean-Paul Etyanga, Hon. Patrick Isiagi Opolot, Hon. Geofrey Ssolo Kayemba

Other officials: Herbert Engura