Which countries still have covid restrictions as Spain eases entry requirements

As Britons prepare for summer vacation, many sunny destinations have dropped most of their travel restrictions.

As the UK has lifted all Covid entry requirements, holidaymakers are advised to check their destinations Covid regulations and travel rules.

While the country has made face masks mandatory on public transport, people will still have to wear them on the spot to and from their homes.

READ MORE- Harry Styles heads to Glasgow ahead of huge Ibrox gig this weekend

Spain is the latest to drop its restrictions for EU travelers – but those traveling from the UK must still provide a vaccination certificate, negative PCR test or proof of Covid recovery within six last months.

France still requires those who are not fully vaccinated to provide a negative PCR test carried out within 72 hours before their arrival or an antigen test 24 hours before.

Meanwhile, Greece has lifted all entry requirements, but holidaymakers are reminded that face masks are still compulsory on public transport.

Turkey also lifted all Covid rules, just in time for summer vacation.

Before you fly anywhere, be sure to check with Advice for foreign travelers before booking the tickets.

As for countries with tighter restrictions, here are the countries that are still restricting flights to the UK.

Get all the latest Glasgow news and headlines straight to your inbox twice a day by signing up to our free newsletter.

From breaking news to breaking news on Scotland’s coronavirus crisis, we’ve got you covered.

The morning newsletter arrives before 9 a.m. daily and the evening newsletter, hand-curated by the team, is sent between 4 and 5 p.m., giving you an overview of the most important stories we covered that day.

To register, simply enter your email address in this link here.


  • Russia (does not allow direct travel and only entry is permitted via an authorized third country)
  • Ukraine (must have travel health insurance with a company registered in Ukraine and self-isolate on arrival until PCR test results are negative)

Middle East

Yemen (most entry points into the country are closed; all arrivals must quarantine in an approved facility for 14 days)


  • Benin (entry is limited to “extreme necessity”)
  • Burkina Faso
  • Central African Republic (mandatory 14-day self-isolation upon arrival)
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea (some flights are allowed in/out but options are extremely limited)
  • Gabon
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Niger (Covid test required on arrival, and you will need to self-isolate until results are known)


  • Chile (proof of vaccination must be validated by the Chilean government, which can take up to 30 days)
  • the falkland islands
  • Suriname


  • Bhutan
  • Brunei (essential travel only; permit required from the Prime Minister’s Office)
  • China (entry for non-Chinese nationals of the UK for essential travel only)
  • Hong Kong (seven days of quarantine)
  • Japan
  • Indonesia (the islands of Bali, Bintan and Batam have different rules)
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Burma
  • Taiwan
  • Turkmenistan


  • Nauru (only essential travel is permitted)
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Island
  • Tonga