Ship it to Spain! Leo Margets had a deep run at the 2009 WSOP Main Event, which put her on the map. Since then she has been a sponsored pro and currently represents Winamax. Margets missed a bracelet in 2018 when she was a finalist in a Double Stack event. But she didn’t pass up the opportunity when she qualified for The Closer’s final table.

The Closer is one of the latest donations and the last marquee event on the WSOP schedule with a buy-in of $ 1,500 and slated for the last weekend of the WSOP 2021. The Closer drew 1,903 runners and a prize pool which has grown by over $ 2.5 million. Only the first 274 places were paid with $ 376,850 reserved for the champion.

The final table of The closest included Leo Margets, Alex Kulev, Stephen Song, Marc Lange, Arturo Segura, Cherish Andrews, Aleksandr Shevliakov, Chris Moorman and Benjamin Underwood. With two women at the final table, there was a greater chance that a woman would win an open bracelet this year.

Chris Moorman was the biggest name at the final table, but the British pro saw his deep run finish in eighth place. Cherish Andrews was selected in sixth place, who paid $ 74,680.

Margets and Alex Kulev from Bosnia went head-to-head for the bracelet in The Closer. Sadly, Kulev was unable to make a comeback and he hit the rail in second place when Margets sent him to pack his bags. Kulev took in almost $ 233,000 for a second place finish, not too bad, eh?

Margets landed his first bracelet and won a small sum of money worth $ 376,850. A hell of a way to crown the 2021 WSOP.

With over $ 1.65 million in earnings, Margets overtook Clonie Gowen for 21st place on the All-Time Winner’s List for Women’s Money and she is closing in on Barbara Enright in 20th place. Ana Marquez is the only other Spanish woman to win more tournament money ($ 1.87 million) than Marquez, but she’s closing the gap.

Notable players who went far and cashed in The Closer included … SJ Buckley, Kenny Hallaert, Melanie Weisner, Ryan Riess, Landon Tice, Yuval Bronshtein, Brett aplter, Rainer Kempe, James Alexander, Nico Koop, Yu Zhu, Shannon Shor, Chance Kornuth, Ryan Tosoc, Jim Collopy, Dara O’Kearney, Barry Shulman, Gianluca Speranza, Dylan Wilkerson, Ari Engel, Kevin Rabichow, Martin Jacobson, Georgios Sotiropoulos, Barny Boatman, Barry Hutter, Dom Nitsche, Justin Liberto, Bernard Vu, Manig Loeser, Felipe Ramos and Martin Zamani.